Across the globe!

Picture credits- http://www.errorofopinion.com

I was a very dependent and careless child for the longest time. As a lot of people know, I’m new and I moved to the United States just 7 months ago. Back in India, the only “chore” or “work” I possibly had to do was make my bed in the morning or at the most, rinse my plate. One day my mother sat down with me and spoke to me about how I should be more responsible and independent since I’ll eventually be on my own someday. I never took that too seriously, since someday was too far for me to care about too much.

A month after that conversation took place, I was told that I’m moving to Michigan to live with my aunt for a better education. Immediately, I laughed it off until I realized that my parents meant every single word of that. After very tough and heartbreaking goodbyes, I set off . When i came here, the change was overwhelming! There was no one to do my laundry, no one to serve food to me, no one to keep a snack ready for me as soon as I came back from school or even wake me up in the morning several times before i actually got up! So instead of frowning or pouting about it, I learned how to do those things myself slowly and steadily.

One of the main things I learnt from this whole lifestyle change was the importance of being independent. Personal independence boosts one’s self confidence and also teaches us how to handle difficult situations maturely. Furthermore, it teaches us not to rely on other people to get our work down and also helps us control our emotions, such as anger, fits etc. I feel being independent helps a lot in our character development and this is possibly one of the best things to happen to me.

One comment

  1. Patti · May 20, 2016

    Hey Sasha! I really liked reading your blog post and I can relate to your situation. I thought my parents were kidding too when they first said I was going to be moving to the United States from Portugal. I find teenagers here to be a lot more independent than teenagers in Portugal which can be both good or bad. Independence comes with a lot of responsibility which can be hard to deal with but it also gives you the freedom to do whatever you want most of the time which is nice. All of this helps a person mature and prepare for the future.

    Like

Leave a comment